imprimer la page

CHAN Sze-rok / 陳詩諾


Arias and Ostinatos of Celestial Ocean / 月夜星海

Birth Y: 1980 Birth C: HONG KONG Gender: Female

Dest: Concert

Media Specification: Live music

Performer(s): Carson Yu (flute), Genevieve Wong (piano)

First perf.: April 2004, Hong Kong

Duration: 13:00

Perf. Country: HONG KONG

Instruments: Flute, amplified piano


Prog. notes: Throughout the piece, the two instruments – flute and piano, are playing against one another in their own cosmic time. The piece consists of three short movements - Tsuki no Nageki, Undercurrent, Celestial Poles each exploring various kinds of extended techniques. The title of the first movement “Tsuki no Nageki” literally means “The Sigh of Moon”. Supported by the tolling from a distant temple, the long and airy phrases of the flute are significant in this movement. The agitated playing of the flute in the second movement forms a contrast between the preceding as well as the succeeding movement. In the last movement, the flute pours its heart out from a distant world while the piano playing in a spiritual way.

Reception: Awarded First Prize at the International Music Competition Jeunesses Musicales Bucharest 2005 in Romania. See also: See also:

Editor: M.B.